Top 100 Blogs
Guest bloggers
Hostinger

Related Posts

How to Get My Driver’s License back after a DUI Cases

HomeEducationalHow to Get My Driver’s License back after a DUI Cases

Arresting for driving under alcohol in Washington and Maryland is an extremely severe offense, and the penalties can include fines, community service, prison time, and DWI / DUI license suspensions / revocations. Without a license, everyday tasks such as going to school, traveling to and from work, carrying out errands and visiting friends can be extremely difficult.

Whether you’ve been arrested in Washington with a DUI or DWI. The most important thing you can do to secure your driving rights is to meet with an experienced Washington Maryland, DUI attorney. Your attorney will determine the charges you face and advise you on the best legal options to get the charges dismissed or reduced. And after your license suspension period is over, a drunk driving defense lawyer will also be able to help you get your driving privileges back.

The page offers a general summary of what you would need to do to get your license back if you have been found guilty of driving under the influence in Washington, DC. To get more specifics and talk to an experienced Washington driver under the influence lawyer, contact Criminal Defence Attorney Washington DC and Maryland for a free and confidential consultation by emailing on the website or at (202) 759-7571.

Whether your license has been suspended due to your first or subsequent DUI / DWI conviction, or due to a refusal request, we will help make sure you get the shortest possible suspension of your license.

1.Understanding DUI / DWI license suspensions:

If you are accused of driving under influence, you will lose your license for a period of 3 months, but your license can be revoked for much longer based on specific factors and disciplinary enhancements such as the Blood Alcohol Content at the time you were charged and if the crime happened within the school zone. Suspension provisions for licenses would also be substantially increased if you have past driving convictions when intoxicated:

The probation period is usually 3 to 12 months for the first time DUI / DWI offense but can be extended up to 2 years for the second time DUI / DWI offence and up to 10 years for the third time DUI / DWI offense. You will get an extra 7 to 12-month suspension of the license to fail to take a breath test, but that will be at the same time as the suspension imposed for similar DWI charges.

2. Comply with your DUI / DWI probation provisions:

In addition to fines and suspensions of driver’s license, if you are convicted of driving under the influence, you will be expected to complete at least 12 hours of alcohol education and assessment. If you are not completing the program or failing to pay the necessary fees, the court may extend the suspension of your license until you have fulfilled those obligations. Likewise, if you have been ordered to mount an ignition interlock system in your vehicle as part of your DUI / DWI probation and you refuse to do so, the judge will apply another year to the suspension of your license.

3. Do not drive with a suspended license:

If you are found driving after your license has been suspended or revoked for drunk driving, the punishments include a suspension of an additional 1 to 2-year license, as well as fines and potential jail time.

4. Having your driving privileges restored:

After your suspension time is over, you will go to the department of motor vehicles, apply for your license to be restored and pay up to $100 reinstatement fee. It’s not automatic to get your license back, because after you complete your application for reinstatement, pay the necessary fees and receive a new license from the Motor Vehicle Commission, your license will remain legally suspended and you may end up facing extra fines if you’re pulled over and charged with a suspended / revoked license.

5. Learn how to avoid potential license suspensions:

You should know how to prevent potential suspensions after your license has been restored. In addition to subsequent DUI / DWI fines, you can also lose your driving privileges if you receive 12 or more points on your license due to traffic offenses and infringements such as speeding or hitting a red light. You may even revoke your license for failure to pay parking tickets or child support.

Get the support you need to get back your licence:

Maryland and Washington, D.C. Criminal Trial Lawyers, a Criminal Defence Attorney Washington, DC, with more than 25 years of experience as a former prosecutor, public defender, and criminal defence lawyer .DUI and DWI charges make up a substantial majority of the cases our DUI Attorney Washington, DC handles on a day-to-day basis, and always able to minimize the terms of suspension that our clients face or have dropped all together.

Contact us for free and confidential consultation at (202) 393-0535 to learn how to help in your case. Law firm Lotze Mosley LLP serves you vigorously in your time of need.

pearls of wisdom
Contributing Author
Contributing Author
InPeaks.com gives you an awesome opportunity to submit your unique content that are educative, informative, knowledgeable and adding value to the people. You may submit the post using the 'Guest Blog' link. Read the guidelines before submission. Thank you.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts

Sharing is Caring!

Help spread the word. You're awesome for doing it!